No Workers’ Compensation Insurance, BIG Problem
Insurance – the United States’ most necessary, but unenjoyable part of life. Workers’ Compensation is no different.
We have all been there, trying to shop around for the best rates to make sure we will be covered in all of those worst case healthcare scenarios. Not only is it required by law, but having health insurance is essential to ensuring that in those worst case scenarios, you are able to have affordable coverage to pay for your unanticipated medical expenses.
- What if I get hurt on the job, does my private insurance have to pay for medical expenses?
Your employer is responsible for holding an insurance policy that has medical coverage to take care of their employees in exactly these types of situations.
Every single business in Massachusetts is required to have an insurance policy for their employees. That includes your Mom & Pop bakery, your side job cleaning gutters for a friend, and everything in between. The only stipulation to being covered under your employer’s workers’ compensation is when you are classified as a domestic worker, you are required to work a minimum of 16 hours a week to be insured under their policy.
Some businesses, such as a sole proprietor, LLP or LLC, are not required to hold a workers’ compensation policy as they are normally run by 1 person (or 2 if we are looking at an LLP)… However, if you are employed (W2’d) under that LLP or LLC, the company is still required to have workers’ compensation coverage available to cover any injury situations that may arise for you, the employee.
- What if I receive a 1099 rather than a W2 from my employer?
That is a great question that requires a bit more detail… Please contact us as soon as possible for further information on a situation such as this.
- What if my employer is technically “out-of-state” but operating in Massachusetts?
Another great question! Luckily for you, your employer is still responsible for holding that workers’ compensation policy for all employees working under the Commonwealth, regardless of where their corporate offices might be located.
The bottom line is that if you work in Massachusetts and obtain an injury while working, you are eligible to file for workers’ compensation and your employer is required to have that available to you.
The good news for you as an employee, is that the likelihood of your employer not having workers’ compensation, is pretty slim. Fines for lacking workers’ compensation coverage are at a minimum of $100 a day for your employer (including weekends and holidays) once a Stop Work Order has been put into place, after this information has been brought to light. If by some chance your employer does not have this coverage available though, we at Lipsey and Clifford are here to help.
Whether we are helping you with your workers’ compensation case, or filing a lawsuit against your employer for lacking said coverage, we will be sure to get you the funds you need to pay for your medical expenses.
Contact our office today for a free consultation so we can help you get you the coverage you are entitled to.